Today's Paper
You are here  » Home   » North Eastern

Tana River residents hold peaceful primaries

By - | Published Sun, January 20th 2013 at 00:00, Updated January 19th 2013 at 20:41 GMT +3

By Paul Gitau

TANA RIVER; KENYA: Party nominations in Tana River County were peaceful despite the recent wave of insecurity.

Only Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) and The National Alliance (TNA) conducted the exercise in the troubled region.

Mr Adam Dhidha Barissa won the ODM ticket for governorship unopposed, Wachu Bashora Maalim senator-unopposed, and Alffeit Mumbo Abiyo women representative.

Others nominated unopposed for parliamentary seats included outgoing Galole MP Dhadho Godhana, Mahad Ali Loko (Bura constituency), and Wellington Patia Godo (Garsen constituency).

And former Garsen MP Danson Mungatana was nominated unopposed for governorship on a TNA ticket. Others who won unopposed included Soba Mohamed Said senator, Madubi Kanana Matilda women representative, Wachu Wetson Simon - Garsen constituency, Ali Wario Bura constituency, Jillo Kaechi Galole constituency.

Get live updates in Agriculture by subscribing to the new farmers TV SMS service. Text the word 'Farmers' to 22071.

Would you like to get published on Standard Media websites? You can now email us breaking news, story ideas, human interest articles or interesting videos on: [email protected]